Husky Farm. The Heaven 6 km from Karasjok

Today I have found the house of my dream! It is not so far from the place where I live. 6 km biking is a good exercise. Then you experience completly different world. Here are several guest houses, a husky farm with 40 dogs and each house and stuff in it was made by hands of  the owners Sven Engholm and Christel Finne.

Here are some words from their website

Sxen is 11 time winner of Europe’s longest sled dog race, the “Finnmarksløpet – 1000 km. He is a top ten finisher in Iditarod – a 1800 km race in Alaska. He is an experienced outdoor guide and has also lead several expeditions to Spitsbergen, Greenland and across Siberia. Thanks to his university studies in natural geography, it is a pleasure for him to explain the many geographical and other natural phenomena’s while leading a tour.

The desire to do something meaningful in life brought me to Karasjok. I had a longing within me for untouched nature. Based upon my own feelings for the area – the exotic light, the darkness and the great plateau – I developed a product which is bearing fruit. I built up to what we have today which has, with the years, become the success I had hoped for when I started 1979.  Once infected with the sled dog mushing virus, there is no cure, there is only trail!”

Christel has background from mountain climbing, alpine and cross country skiing, touring with ski sail and pulka. Horse riding guide. 8 years full time working guide on overnight tours and expeditions with Engholm Husky sled dogs on the Finnmark plateau.

The freedom of being in nature, at all seasons with sled dogs gives me a feeling of life and when I came north – I got fascinated by the contrasts in the seasons. The bright summer nights with midnight sun and the arctic winter’s unique tranquillity with Northern lights. With my background knowledge and skills, I have joined in developing this fantastic place. And I enjoy very much when I can share all this with others.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Moreover I have found also the sound of this landscape

Leave a Reply

