How to be a white femaile photographer in Africa

IMG_0323On the 6th day being in Tanzania I was unfortunately robbed. So now I lost my two cameras. both sound recorders and all money I had. People told me that Dar es Salam not a safe place but only now I know how dangerous it is.I wrote some roles which would help me if I knew them before last Saturday.

So if you are going to Arfica as a photographer:

1. Be sure you have an insurance for your equipment.
2. Don’t take your camera with you if you are going to the city along.
3. Don’t show people, that you have a camera, put it in your bag.
4. Don’t go to the city along.
5. Take pictures only if you have an assistant, who should be a black man.
6. Don’t talk to people on the streets.
7. Take only taxi that you know well.
8. Never go with person with whom you don’t have at least one common friend.
9. Never forget you are a minority, you are mzungu here.

5 comments
  1. margavp said:

    shit kate, this is awful…it’s one of my biggest fears when travelling off the beaten track. how are you managing now, how long will you be there?

  2. true Marga, but I think it is not the worth, I lost only money. I was very stupid not to make an insurance. i have got a lesson. i was going to be here for 2 months, now is my second week here. now i don’t have camera to work and have a big fear. hope it will be gone soon.

  3. margavp said:

    …i was thinking what i would do in your situation and decided that i would buy a bunch of disposable cameras (not nearly so attractive to thieves) and work within the parameters that they bring with them…could be an interesting direction????

  4. surely! i though about that too! but the organisation which invited me promised to rent a camera and they already gave me an assistant, And i decided to change the topic, now i want to make a project about all this situation with security.

  5. margavp said:

    look forward to seeing what you do kate. good luck and stay safe!!

Leave a Reply

